Weekly Photo Challenge : Growth

GROWTH – WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE

 

Every January, I start pondering about my life direction and set some goals. It usually will encompass different physical, emotional and financial goals. The word “Goals” sets me thinking; it should be called an “Opportunity for Growth”. I set goals because it is a persistent desire to be better and it leads me to grow to the next level. I have found that writing goals down helps me set plans in motion to fulfill it with discipline, focus and determination.

The picture above was taken at Half Dome at Yosemite National Park, after we climbed and descended the treacherous cables on the south face. This picture always reminds me of overcoming something that I thought was impossible. As we climbed the cables, my body was shaking uncontrollably because I have a paralyzing  fear of heights. I pushed through the fear and this accomplishment gave me the strength and courage to seek out other challenges and push myself even further.

This year I signed up for the Beaverhead Endurance Ultra Marathon (55km) and the race will be taking place on the Continental Divide National Scenic Trail between Idaho and Montana. The course is run at an average elevation of 8,500 feet along a remote, rugged and scenic section of the Beaverhead Mountains. The landscape along the course is nearly untouched and looks like it did 200 years ago when Lewis and Clark crossed the Continental Divide. It is one of the toughest races and I am looking forward to finishing the most challenging 55 kilometers in the Northwest (or anywhere).

 

"You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face.  Do the thing you think you cannot do."  --Eleanor Roosevelt

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Dawn says:

    I am so impressed Glenda! I look forward to more! ⛷⛸🚴‍♀️🍷🏕🛶🚁

    Like

  2. Mountain Maven says:

    That is an awesome goal! I can’t wait to see pictures from that race, it’s going to be gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a comment